Document Recording

Recording Fees
Effective January 1, 2013, the Register of Deeds Recording Fees will change, pursuant to Nebraska Rev.
Statute 33-109, as amended by LB 14, by the Nebraska Legislature.

Recording fees will be as follows:

1) First page (page 1) $10.00

2) Each additional page $6.00

{Effective 1/1/2013 there no longer is a fee for the legal description)

The above fees pertain to ALL documents filed within the Register of Deeds Office with the exception of the
following which are NO FEE:

1) Federal Tax Lien Termination

2) State Tax Lien Termination

3) UCC Termination

UCC Financing Statements, A53|gnments Amendments, Releases, & Partial Releases will be
as follows:
1) Flat Fee $14.00 No Fee Charge for Additional Pages

(*NOTE: Effective July 1, 2021)

Documentary Stamp Taxes (Effective 7/1/2005)(LB254):
Documentary Stamps for deeds are at $2.25 per $1,000 of the sale price.
See Documentary Stamp Tax Table.

hitp://www.revenue.ne.govitax/current/doc_table.pdf

Certain deeds are exempt from Documentary Stamp.
See Exemption List For Details.
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/sites/revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/doc_exmpt.pdf

Documentary Stamps have increased from $1.75 to $2.25 effective July 1, 2005.

All deeds must be accompanied by a Real Estate Transfer Statement-Form 521.

Register of Deeds WILL NOT accept a deed for recording unless items 1 through 25 are properly
completed and a Real Estate Transfer Statement, Form 521 is signed. Please follow the “Instructions” on
back of Form 521 for specific instructions per item number.

NOTE: Requirements
LB 254 - Provide New Requirements for Instruments recorded in the Office of Register of Deeds
Effective Auqust 27, 2011

Recording Space Requirements:

- Any instrument submitted for recording shall contain a Blank Space at the top of the
First Page which is atleast3” X8 %2 “

- No attachment or affirmation shall be used in any way to cover any information or
printed material on the instrument.”
(Example- Nothing may be taped or attached to an instrument)

- Every Instrument presented for recording shall have on the first page
*BELOW the 3 inch margin* A return Address and the Title of the Document

Margin Requirements: 1” on both vertical sides, and 1” on the bottom.
This applies throughout the document.

Instrument Requirements:
- At least 8%2” X 117, and no larger than 814" X 14"
- Shall be printed, typewritten or computer generated in Black Ink
- White Paper, of not less than 20lb weight
- Must be legibie
- All Signatures on an instrument shall be in Black or dark blue ink
- Names of each party shall be typed, printed, or stamped beneath the original signature.
- Stamps shall not cover or interfere with any part of the instrument.
- Font size shall be at least 8 point

Exceptions to the rule:
- Instruments signed before the effective date of this bill (August 27, 2011)
- Instruments executed outside of the U.S.
- Certified copies from governmental agencies (Death Certificates)
- Instruments signed by an incapacitated or deceased person at the time of recording.
- Instruments formatted to meet court requirements )
- State & Federal Tax Liens
- UCC Instruments
- Plats, Surveys, etc.



